Skip to content

Cardiac muscle histology


There are three types of muscles: cardiac, skeletal, and smooth muscle.

Each type has distinct functions as well as structural characteristics that can be identified histologically.

Cardiac muscle makes up the majority of tissue found in the wall of the heart.

Each mature cardiac muscle cell or cardiomyocyte is relatively short, with a length approximately 85-120 µm long and a diameter approximately 15-30 µm.

Histologically, cardiac muscles have quite a few unique characteristics that make it easier to differentiate them from skeletal muscles.

Unlike skeletal musclecardiac muscle fibers are branched cells with only 1-2 centrally located nuclei.

Also unique to cardiac muscles are the intercalated discs, which are the specialized junctions between neighboring cells that allow the cells to have synchronized contractions and pump blood out of the heart efficiently.

Let’s first take a look at a longitudinal section of cardiac muscle cells that was stained with Hematoxylin and Eosin (or H&E for short).

If we compare cardiac muscle cells to skeletal muscle cells, we can see there are some key differences between the two muscle types.

  1. "Histology. A Text and Atlas" Wolters Kluwer (2018)
  2. "Wheater's Functional Histology" Churchill Livingstone (2013)
  3. "Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Fourteenth Edition" McGraw-Hill Education / Medical (2015)
  4. "Robbins Basic Pathology" Elsevier (2017)
  5. "Diagnostic Immunohistochemistry" Elsevier (2021)
  6. "Cytology" Saunders (2013)
  7. "Left ventricular twist mechanics in the context of normal physiology and cardiovascular disease: a review of studies using speckle tracking echocardiography" American Journal of Physiology-Heart and Circulatory Physiology (2016)
  8. "Cardiac T-Tubule Microanatomy and Function" Physiological Reviews (2017)