Background character 1Background character 2

Osmosis Raise the Line Faculty Awards

Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations for the inaugural Osmosis Raise the Line Faculty Awards. We received an incredible 500 nominations from more than 160 institutions, and the results are in! It was amazing to hear about faculty members who inspire both their students and colleagues. These inspirational educators are responsible for training the next generation of healthcare professionals and are constantly helping to "Raise the Line" by increasing the capacity of healthcare systems worldwide.

Congratulations to the winning faculty members and all of those nominated. Stay tuned for future opportunities to spotlight leaders in healthcare education. 

What do Osmosis Raise the Line Faculty Awards winners receive?

Top winners will receive a gift certificate, Osmosis Prime access, and will be featured on in front of millions of future healthcare providers. All nominees will receive free Osmosis Prime access and will be featured on our Top Faculty page.

Congratulations to this year's award-winning faculty

Medical Professionals

Category Winners: Ritcha Saxena, MBBS, MD - Medical University of the Americas | Lina Shehadeh, PhD - University of Miami Miller School of Medicine | Jayendra Bajracharya - Nepal Army Institute Of Health Science | Cheryl Vanier, PhD - Touro University Nevada

Registered Nurses

Category Winners: Annmarie Lyles, PhD, RN - Herzing University-Madison | Laurie Badzek, LLM, JD, MS, RN, FNAP, FAAN - Penn State | Lisa Nikel, DNP, ARNP-C - Rasmussen College | Yvonne Commodore-Mensah, PhD, MHS, RN, FAHA, FPCNA, FAAN - Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

Nurse Practitioners

Category Winners: Melissa Penkalski, DNP, APRN, CPNP-PC, AE-C - Missouri State University | Teresa Gwin, EdD, RN, GNP - Samuel Merritt University | Ruth Kleinpell, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAANP, FCCM - Vanderbilt University School of Nursing | Xiao Hu, PhD - Duke University

Physician Assistants

Category Winners: Amber Teigen, MMSc, PA-C - University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | Enrique Fernandez, MD, MSEd, FAAFP - Florida International University | Brianna Cardenas, PA-C, ATC - University of LaVerne | Shaun Curran, MPAS, PA-C - University of Utah

Healthcare Professionals 

Category Winners: Andreas Herrler, PhD - Maastricht University, Veterinarian Medicine | Eric Wellman, MS, NRP, CCEMTP - Southern Maine Community College, Paramedicine/EMT | Erin Bons, Loyalist College, Paramedicine | Krishana Sireesha Sundaragiri, MDS - Rajasthan University of Health Sciences, Department of Dentistry

The Osmosis Values

Nominate an educator who embodies one of Osmosis’s core values:

  • Start with the heart

  • Reach further

  • Imagine more

  • Open your arms

  • Spread joy

  • Have each others’ backs

2020 nominations are now closed

Nomination FAQs

This award will be granted to top faculty around the world. Recipients will be featured on the Osmosis website, blog, and social media, and will receive Osmosis swag, Osmosis prime, a gift card, and much more! 

Who is eligible?

Applications are open globally, and awards will be granted to top faculty in medical, nursing, physician assistant, and other health education categories. The more nominations a faculty member receives, the better their chances of winning, so encourage your classmates and colleagues to join in!

How long should the application take? 

The application includes: (1) basic personal information, contact information, and details of the faculty you're nominating; (2) a short questionnaire; and (3) a video submission of no more than 5 minutes in length. With thoughtful consideration, we estimate it taking approximately 10-30 minutes to complete.

What will my nominee win?

Winners will be featured on Osmosis, receive complimentary access and swag, and earn a gift certificate. Most importantly, faculty will get the satisfaction of knowing how much of an impact they’ve made on their students' lives.

How do I receive my Nomination funds? 

Nomination winners will be notified November 13, 2020. We’ll work with the winners to arrange the award. 

Are the Osmosis Raise the Line Faculty Awards open internationally?

Yes, these awards are open to faculty members all over the world.

I don’t have time to record a video. Can I still nominate a faculty member?

Video submissions are optional, but highly encouraged. Read the contest rules below for full details.

Can I nominate more than one faculty member?

Yes, you can nominate up to three different faculty members. The more times a faculty member is nominated, the greater their chances of winning, so invite your classmates/colleagues to join in!

Can I nominate a faculty member for the Award if they have previously won the nomination? 

This is the first ever Faculty Award, so all faculty members can be nominated. 

When will I hear back from you?

You will receive a confirmation email to confirm your application submission. We will notify everyone on or before November 13, 2020. 

How are nominees evaluated?

Nominees will be chosen by a selection committee of Osmosis professionals on the basis of quality, application completion, questionnaire responses, and the optional video submission. 

Are you an educator?

Learn more about how to effectively support your students as you transition from live classes to distance learning.

Learn more